VoCo

Sustainable design of urban-rural value chains

Motivation

In the Vorpommern region, with its centers Greifswald and Stralsund, there are urban-rural contrasts which lead to a conflict between urban and rural demands. The current use of land has negative impacts on biodiversity and climate in the area. Further, agricultural products are often exported before being processed on-site, leaving no chance for creating added-value.

Goals and approach

VoCo aims to create and improve sustainable land use value-chains under the consideration of urban-rural partnerships. Value-creation potentials will be analyzed for this purpose. In exchange with regional actors, options for multifunctional land uses as well as selection criteria for model projects will be developed. In the end, regional ecosystem services should be enhanced and indicators will be tested for use in evaluations.

Expected results and transfer

Selected model projects for the production and marketing of sustainable agricultural products and biomass fuel collected from landscape maintenance will be implemented. The sustainable land use projects will be directly linked to developed educational opportunities incorporating places of experience and learning with sustainable land use. The experiences and results regarding sustainable value creation will be prepared as "lessons learned" and provided in brochures and guides for practical use.

Project Management / Contact

Prof. Dr. Volker Beckmann
Greifswald University
Soldmannstraße 23
17489 Greifswald
Telephone: +49 3834 420 4122
Email: volker.beckmann@uni-greifswald.de

VoCo: Trade Fair for Regional Products in Greifswald © Wirtschaftsfördergesellschaft Vorpommern / Henry Dramsch
VoCo: Trade Fair for Regional Products in Greifswald © Wirtschaftsfördergesellschaft Vorpommern / Henry Dramsch

... back to English summary.

 

Further Information

Project Profile
Download to come soon

Funding Measure:
Stadt-Land-Plus

Project Cluster:
Regional Products

Project Title:
VoCo – Vorpommern Connect – Designing and Evaluating Sustainable Urban-Rural Value Chains

Duration:
01.08.2018 – 31.07.2023

Project Number:
033L211

Funding Amount:
2.441.399 €

Partners:
- Hanseatic City of Greifswald
- Vorpommern-Rügen County
- Vorpommern-Greifswald County
- Michael Succow Foundation, Greifswald

Internet:
Website: www.vorpommern-connect.de

Version:
June 2020

VoCo

Nachhaltige Stadt-Land-Wertschöpfungsketten bewerten und gestalten

Motivation

In der Region Vorpommern mit dem Zentrum Greifswald bestehen Stadt-Land-Gegensätze, die zu einer Entfremdung zwischen städtischen und ländlichen Ansprüchen führen. Die derzeitige Landnutzung führt zu negativen Auswirkungen auf Biodiversität und Klima. Landwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse werden vielfach exportiert, ohne Wertschöpfung durch Verarbeitung vor Ort zu schaffen.

Ziele und Vorgehen

VoCo möchte Wertschöpfungsketten einer nachhaltigen Landnutzung unter Berücksichtigung der Stadt-Land- Beziehungen verbessern. Wertschöpfungspotenziale werden dazu analysiert. Mit regionalen Akteuren werden Nutzungsoptionen multifunktionaler Landnutzung entwickelt und Kriterien zur Auswahl von Modellprojekten festgelegt. Regionale Ökosystemdienstleistungen sollen gezielt gefördert werden. Zur Bewertung werden Indikatoren entwickelt und erprobt.

Erwartete Ergebnisse und Transfer

Ausgewählte Modellprojekte zur Erzeugung und Vermarktung nachhaltiger landwirtschaftlicher Produkte und zur energetischen Verwertung von Landschaftspflege- Biomasse werden umgesetzt. Im Projekt entwickelte Bildungsangebote verknüpfen Erlebnis- und Lernorte mit Projekten nachhaltiger Landnutzung. Die praxisnahe Aufbereitung der Erfahrungen und Ergebnisse bezüglich nachhaltiger Wertschöpfung werden als „Lessons learned“ in Broschüren und Leitfäden zur Verfügung gestellt.

Projektleitung / Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Volker Beckmann
Universität Greifswald
Rechts- und Staatswissenschaftliche Fakultät und Institut für Botanik und Landschaftsökologie
Tel.: +49 3834 420-4122
E-Mail: volker.beckmann@uni-greifswald.de

VoCo: Regionalproduktmesse in Greifswald © Wirtschaftsfördergesellschaft Vorpommern / Henry Dramsch
VoCo: Regionalproduktmesse in Greifswald © Wirtschaftsfördergesellschaft Vorpommern / Henry Dramsch

... zurück zur Projektübersicht

 

Weitere Informationen

Projektsteckbrief
Download als PDF hier

Fördermaßnahme
Stadt-Land-Plus

Projekttitel
VoCo – Vorpommern Connect – Nachhaltige Stadt-Land- Wertschöpfungsketten bewerten und gestalten

Laufzeit:
01.08.2018 – 31.07.2023

Förderkennzeichen:
033L211

Fördervolumen:
2.441.399 €

Verbundpartner:
- Universitäts- und Hansestadt Greifswald
- Michael Succow Stiftung zum Schutz der Natur
- Landkreis Vorpommern-Greifswald
- Landkreis Vorpommern-Rügen

Internet
Website: www.vorpommern-connect.de

Stand
Oktober 2018